ENGL E-129 Shakespeare After All The Later Plays

Harvard Course , Prof. Marjorie Garber

Lecture 1: Introduction

Download:    | FLV | Mov | Audio
Course Description :

This course focuses on Shakespeares later plays beginning with Measure for Measure and ending with The Tempest. Building on the discussions of individual plays in Marjorie Garbers book Shakespeare After All, this course takes note of key themes, issues, and interpretations of the plays, focusing on questions of genre, gender, politics, family relations, silence and speech, and cultural power from both above and below (royalty, nobility, and the court; clowns and fools). Designed as part lecture-presentation and part discussion, this is a course that is meant to be interactive, taking up topics generated by students as well as by the instructor. We discuss a play each week, along with the relevant critical reading.

Other Resources

These video lectures are licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License by Harvard University.

COURSE Reviews

5 Stars 68
4 Stars 21
3 Stars 14
2 Stars 11
1 Stars 30
3.6 Overall Ratings